Chew On That!

Today is Thursday, April 10th

The Topic or Question of the Day:

Have your ever been caught?

Sometimes you never really “get it,” until you are caught!  This happened to me this past month and has made a huge impact on my actions.  The  blunder made me realize two important truths.

Truth # 1:  Chewing your food well (until it is like applesauce), really works in calorie control and also indigestion.  We were made to chew and the mechanism actually tells our brain we ate something.  I learned at a conference a couple years ago that a study was done using jelly beans and soda pop.  250 calories of soda pop were given to one group of people and 250 calories of jelly beans were given to another group.  The people who chewed and swallowed the jelly beans ate less during the rest of the afternoon.  The group who drank their calories, were hungry within an hour and sought food to eat.  When we take time to chew, it appears our body realizes it ate something and we have more satiety.  Interesting that both groups consumed the same amount of calories and one group was satisfied and the other not.

Truth # 2:  Getting caught is a good thing.  We were having dinner with some friends and my friend noticed I was not chewing like I suggested to him a while back.  BUSTED!  It really made me more aware of remembering to practice what I preach.  Since then, I have become much more attentive to my eating for two reasons.  One, I know it works from past experience with myself and my clients, and secondly, I do not want to be phony.  I thank my friend for bringing this to my attention, it was a great lesson!

Quote or Tip of the Day:

Practice what you preach!

Take Action Today:

1.  Chew your food until it is liquid.

2.  Examine yourself and things you might be doing that are inconsistent with your speech.

3.  Resolve to change the things you can improve on.

Leave a Reply

