The Dilly Bar Dilemma

A childhood story of mine really captures the impact of sticking to what you say, as difficult as it can be.

I was about 8 or 10 years old and my 3 sisters and my parents were on a Sunday drive to visit our relatives in Rockford, Illinois. My dad stopped at a Dairy Queen about half way from home and Rockford as he sometimes did to surprise us and buy us a Dilly Bar. Back then, parents usually ordered whatever food the family was going to eat and we just ate it. There were not choices…usually. However, this time, my dad bought 3 cherry and 3 chocolate dilly bars. I wanted a cherry dilly bar. I did not get one. I got a chocolate dilly bar. I pouted and whined, arguing that I wanted a cherry dilly bar. I will never, ever forget what happened next and the lesson I learned stayed with me forever. My dad took my chocolate dilly bar away and I got nothing. My sisters and parents ate their dilly bars while I cried and watched. It taught me not to complain over food and to grateful for what I was given. You know it was hard on my parents to do, and probably broke their hearts, but they loved me and wanted me to grow up grateful.

I went to a seminar a few years ago that said parents today are: “Loving their children to death”. What a scary statement. I believe it is true as I see kids getting their way all the time when it comes to food. I beg all of you young parents out there. Teach your children gratitude and stick to healthy principles that will teach them manners and obedience.

One thought on “The Dilly Bar Dilemma

Leave a Reply

