The Hand Grab

Good Morning and Happy Tuesday!

Today we continue with guidelines for proper portions.  This one is my favorite and I believe it makes good sense.  I call it the Hand Grab.  When I teach this method, I encourage people to picture various food dishes lined up or being passed at a table that do not have any utensils for serving. This is when I have them picture or imagine their hands being used as utensils.  We are all different shapes and sizes and I believe a grasp of your personal handful size of food is a good “portion” of food for that person.  A little child has a little hand, therefore, their “handful” is probably adequate for them.  I am not as big as my husband and neither is my hand as large as his hand, so he obviously would require a bigger portion than I.  Make sense?  I think so in most cases.  Always remember that we only need 4 handfuls of food for each of the food groups.  One handful of protein, one handful of starch or a whole grain, one handful of fruit, and one handful of vegetables.  Some people would rather have 2 handfuls of vegetables, 1 of protein and 1 of whole grain and that is fine too.  We do not all like the same kinds of foods.

A bit of caution when you are at a wedding buffet table, Thanksgiving extravaganza , church supper, or a such a feast.  Because there are so many delicious and tantalizing dishes, you may want to use The Dollop Method.  You would place a dollop of this or that on your plate.  Only enough for a taste, remembering that the First 3 bites taste the best!  Do not go back for seconds either.  Enough is Enough.  We will talk about that tomorrow!

One thought on “The Hand Grab

  1. Good one (well, they’re all good!). I’m glad you qualified the sentence, “Always remember that we only need 4 handfuls of food for each of the food groups.” At first I thought 4 for each – like 4 of protein, 4 of veggies, etc. But your next sentence clarified it!!

    Date: Tue, 5 Aug 2014 10:47:07 +0000 To: bid44@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

